All About Nettle Tea- and Why You Should Drink It!

nettle tea

Image Credit

Truth be told, I hadn’t even heard of nettle (Urtica dioica) until a couple of years ago.  I started occasionally using it for sinus and allergy issues like congestion or runny nose, but I had no idea how many wonderful medicinal benefits nettle actually offers!  These days, I drink a cup of it at least several times a week, if not every day.

Read on to find out why you should be drinking nettle tea too!

Kidneys

Nettle loosens and dissolves accumulation of minerals in the kidneys so that they can be safely eliminated.  I personally had a kidney stone about two or three months ago and used nettle tea to help it pass quickly and with relatively little pain.

Fertility

Nettle increases fertility in both men and women.  It helps to adjust and balance hormones and adrenals.

Pregnancy

Because of nettle’s high content of vitamins and minerals, it is especially nourishing to momma and baby.  The high iron content helps to build good, strong blood volume, and the other vitamins and minerals are easily assimilated when you drink nettle as an infusion (tea).

I’m not a huge fan of taking supplements because so many of them are synthetic or difficult for your body to even use.  I love that nettle tea is such a rich source of needed vitamins and minerals during my pregnancy!

Nettle is an Excellent Source of:

  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin C
  • Vitamin D
  • Vitamin K
  • Calcium
  • Potassium
  • Phosphorus
  • Iron
  • Sulphur

Before, During and After Birth

The vitamins and minerals provided by nettle tea also supports the following benefits:

  • Easing leg cramps (the high mineral content helps the muscles to relax.)
  • Preventing after-birth hemorrhage (the high vitamin K content increases available hemoglobin.)
  • Reducing hemorrhoids (nettle tightens and strengthens blood vessels.)
  • Increasing breastmilk supply (nettle is a galactagogue.)
  • Prevents hypertension (nettle lowers blood pressure.)

How to Prepare Nettle Tea

Because herbs are most easily assimilated through water preparations, my favorite way to use herbs is in tea form (vs essential oils or other medicinal preparations).  I find that herbal teas work quickly and efficiently.

I keep a large bag of dried nettle leaves on hand and scoop a little out each time I want to brew a cup.  Use a tea ball or other type of infuser to steep one tsp of dried nettle leaves in one cup of boiling water.  Cover and let steep for 10-15 minutes.  Remove cover and drink when cool enough.  Nettle tea is not terribly strong-tasting, though it does have a distinctively “green”, mineral-y taste.  I don’t mind it at all.  I try to drink a cup at bedtime as I’m unwinding and look at it as another wonderful thing I can do for my body.

Alternately, you can easily find high-quality nettle tea bags already prepped, such as these from Traditional Medicinals (one of my favorite tea brands), or these from Alvita (my other favorite).

There is not an easier way to get all of the vitamin and mineral content of nettle tea in such an easily-assimilated form!  While the benefits to pregnant women can’t be overemphasized, nettle tea is good for men and women of all ages to drink daily.  My toddler even steals sips from me when he sees me drinking it!

To learn more about the benefits of drinking nettle tea, check out Wise Woman Herbal for the Childbearing Year!

I’ve been so delighted to find more and more benefits of drinking nettle tea the more I learn about it!

What’s your favorite herb to drink as a tea?

5 thoughts on “All About Nettle Tea- and Why You Should Drink It!

  1. Pingback: My Prenatal Vitamin Routine | Modern Alternative Mama

  2. I love nettle tea! I drank it all throughout my last two pregnancies – per midwife’s instructions. 🙂 I’ve also found that it really helps keep my seasonal allergies at bay. Thanks for the great post and linking up to Savoring Saturdays! Hope you’ll come back next week. 😉

  3. Pingback: How to Make Beet Kvass |

Leave a Reply

