The GAPS Diet is HARD… But I Choose Joy!

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We are in the middle of our second week on the GAPS Intro diet.  We are still sticking to mostly broth, broth-based stews and soups, vegetables, kefir and yogurt.  I’m craving sweets and carbs, we are all a bit under the weather, and crankiness abounds.  This diet is taking a toll and we are exhausted.  I could go on and on about what a challenge this is.  Instead, I want to look at the bright side.  I have been reading Ann Voskamp’s “One Thousand Gifts” and to say it is transforming me would not be a stretch.

I have gone through confusion and discouragement this past week and a half.  Frustration, yes.  I have yelled.  I have cried.  GAPS is not for the faint of heart.  But I have also soared.  I have had moments of real breakthrough.  I have had clarity.  For these things I am thankful, but I am also thankful for the struggle.  My here and now is bit more challenging than usual (and even in the usual, I think it’s pretty challenging to mother three small boys!).  Reading “One Thousand Gifts” has challenged me to be thankful each moment.  I plan to start a journal because I, too, want to make a list of one thousand gifts I have to be thankful for.  For now, I’ll briefly share the gifts I have noticed this past little while (these are pretty specific to where we are at in life at the moment- very here and now!):

Baby giggles when I’m finding him clingy and, yes, a little annoying

Toilet paper

Yogurt that sustains us between meals

Cute library DVD that occupies my kids for a few minutes

Hot detox baths and twenty minutes to myself

Bowel movements

Long naps for my kids and myself (though not at the same time!)

Fresh, local chickens, eggs, soup bones and raw milk (THANK YOU JESUS!)

Maddox’s long eyelashes

Camden’s sharp whit and impressive reading skills

Coconut oil, ghee and other sources of fat for this nursing mama

Bedtime!

Tomatoes growing in the garden!

Our local farmer

David’s job

Clean dishes

 

I am thankful to be thankful and so blessed to have mine eyes opened to the otherwise unnoticed.  I have much to be thankful for and I pray I never cease to thank the Creator for my abundance of blessings, both big and small.

I pray you notice the small blessings in your here and now, wherever that may be!

Leave a Reply

