Best Ever Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe (Yes, I’m Aware It’s Still Winter.)

Best chocolate ice cream

I know there have been recent snow storms across the country. But not in my neck of the woods. Nope, here in Texas, we’ve been having some pretty nice weather and have even been opening doors and windows to let in a nice breeze. So, no, I do not think ice cream is out of order. Nor is it ever. I played around with a recipe last night and found it to be so unbelievably good that I made the exact same thing again tonight. You, too, can make this unbelievably good treat with only a few ingredients:

Ingredients:

2 cups raw milk (or organic or homemade coconut milk [Native Forest is a good brand])
1/4 + 1/8 cup raw honey
Heaping 1/4 cup raw cacao powder
2 pastured eggs
1 tsp vanilla

Directions:

Blend all ingredients together in a blender until well combined (you don’t want the cacao powder to have clumps!) Pour into your ice cream maker and proceed according to manufacturer’s instructions.

This is delicious to serve up with some fresh, organic strawberries. My husband added some plain raw milk to his and made a chocolate milk shake, which was delicious, by the way. I think I will use this recipe (without freezing it) to make good ol’ chocolate milk as an occasional treat for my boys as well- pretty sure I would get some kind of mom award from them for that one!

You may notice that this is a pretty small batch of ice cream. The first night I made it, my boys didn’t eat much of their dinner, so I sent them to bed and made it just for the hubby and myself! We didn’t finish all of it, though, so it really is enough for several people. I made the same amount again tonight, and it was just about right for the four of us (baby definitely doesn’t get ice cream yet!), with no left overs, which is fine by me because it’s much better fresh anyways.

The funny thing is, I’m not a huge chocolate person, but this just really does it for me.

What’s your favorite ice cream flavor?

Leave a comment