Homemade Fruit and Veggie Leather (Better Than Fruit Roll-Ups!)

So, remember how I said I was going to do the Whole 30?  I was really excited about it and pumped up to encourage you guys to join me… If you follow me on facebook, you know that it didn’t quite work out like I’d hoped.  Type A person that I am, this really bummed me out, but once I just determined to do what was best for my family at the time, I felt a huge relief.  Turns out adding on additional food restrictions to an already strict diet mere weeks after a move and schedule change is not the wisest thing to do.  Lesson learned and I will try again when I feel like it’s the right time.  So… did any of you do the Whole 30? 🙂

Moving on… I’ve been getting busier in the kitchen over the last month as we are feeling a little more settled in our new home.  I’m enjoying experimenting in the kitchen again!  I’d been wanting to make some homemade fruit leather for years and hadn’t ever gotten around to it, so I finally decided to give it a try last week.  The results were amazing- and so simple to achieve!  If you want to give it a try too, here’s what you’ll need:

2 peeled, cored apples

1.5-2 cups mixed organic berries (fresh, not frozen)

1-2 large carrots

1/4 cup honey

High-powered blender or food processor

Parchment paper

.

.

Preheat oven to 150*.

Place all ingredients in the blender:

Image

Blend until completely smooth:

Image

Pour mixture onto parchment paper-lined baking sheet/s and place in the oven for a minimum of 6 hours, possibly overnight if you start it in the evening.  Just gauge how thick/thin the mixture is.

IMG_0514

When it is all totally dry and can be peeled off the paper, it’s done!  To be honest, we didn’t let it all get done, we just peeled strips off as it was finished because it was SO good and we are an impatient bunch.  I took a few strips and sort of rolled and twisted them together to make them more transport-able for a park play date.

Image

I’d like to try again with more veggies next time!  What combination of fruits and veggies would you try?

One thought on “Homemade Fruit and Veggie Leather (Better Than Fruit Roll-Ups!)

  1. We like pineapple with the apple and our favorite that almost never makes it to the “done” stage is peach esp. when they are all coming of the trees and we get to go pick them I have also mixed strawberries in with the peach really good too. I have not put the veggies in going to do that next time.

Leave a Reply

