Soaked Banana Nut Bread ~Recipe

Banana bread is something I’ve always made, even before I ate healthy and made much from scratch.  It was a favorite for my family when I was growing up.  Since I’ve started soaking my grains, I’ve been wanting to make a soaked version of banana bread, and here is what I recently came up with by changing up a recipe from my new Vitamix cookbook!

Ingredients:

1 2/3 Cups (freshly ground) Whole Wheat Flour

1/4 Cup Coconut Oil

1/3 Cup Raw Milk

2 TBS Whey

Using a pastry blender, mix these ingredients together.  Cover with a towel (I usually cover with a wet towel, followed by a dry towel on top to help keep in moisture).  Let the mixture soak for 12-24 hours.  I usually do this in the evening, then my batter or dough is ready to complete and cook in the morning.

After soaking, you will need the following ingredients:

1 Egg

2 Ripe Bananas

1/4 Cup Applesauce

2/3 Cup Rapadura

1/2 Cup Soaked Pecans, divided

2 tsp Baking Soda

1 tsp Salt (pink or gray, real salt)

Preheat oven to 350*.

Mash banana with applesauce and egg, then mix in rapadura and pecans, reserving a couple of TBS of pecans to top loaf with.  Add this mixture to the soaked flour and mix well.

Add baking soda and salt and mix well.

Pour into greased bread tin, sprinkle remaining pecans on top, and bake at 350* for 45-50 minutes.

One thought on “Soaked Banana Nut Bread ~Recipe

  1. Pingback: What We Eat |

Leave a Reply

