No-fail Soaked Carrot Cake Cupcakes!

Birthday cupcakes! 

(I have to get creative with fondant since I don’t color the frosting that will actually be eaten!  I forbid my kids from eating any of the fondant, of course.)

 

Mine and my son’s birthdays this past month had me experimenting with soaked cake recipes.  I came up with some really yummy cupcakes, which I served at his birthday party.  I was really pleased with these cupcakes, as everyone seemed to enjoy them.  Last year’s cake did not get eaten, as I was new to healthy baking and my cake was a grainy, applesauce-tinged disaster.  I did not want to repeat the same mistake this year!

Because we try not to eat grains that haven’t been properly soaked, cupcakes proved a special challenge.  Here’s what I came up with:

 

The night before you bake, soak together the following ingredients:

2 Cups Whole Wheat Flour (freshly ground is best)

2 Cups Buttermilk (I use the “buttermilk” that is a by-product of making butter, the liquid that runs off.  Alternatively, you could soak the flour in 2 tablespoons whey or other acid medium, plus enough filtered water to equal 2 cups.)

Soak 12-24 hours.

 

After soaking, begin mixing the cake batter.  You will need:

1 Cup Butter, Softened

1/2 Cup Coconut Sugar (or Rapadura, date sugar, or other natural, granular sugar)

2 Eggs (pastured is best)

2 tsp Vanilla

1 tsp Baking Soda

3/4 tsp Baking Powder

1/2 Cup Shredded Carrot

 

Preheat oven to 350*.

Begin by mixing butter and sugar together.  Add eggs and vanilla as you continue mixing.

Stir in shredded carrot, then soaked flour.

Finally, add baking soda and powder.

Scoop into greased muffin tin or tin lined with baking cups.

Bake for approximately 18 minutes.  Makes two dozen cupcakes.

 

Easy frosting recipe (adapted from Modern Alternative Mama):

1/2 Cup Cream Cheese

1/2 Cup Butter (slightly soft)

3 TBS Raw Honey

1 tsp Vanilla

Blend ingredients together in blender or stand mixer.  Spread on cupcakes and enjoy!

 

Easy substitutions:

For chocolate cupcakes, replace shredded carrot with 1/2 Cup cocoa powder, and for frosting, add a heaping tablespoon of cocoa powder, along with a little extra honey.

Get creative with flavor variations!  You can also try a mashed banana or applesauce in place of the shredded carrot.  The possibilities are endless!

Leave a Reply

