Un-Pasta With White Cream Sauce

I had never made spaghetti squash until this past week, but now that I have, I am obsessed!  I haven’t fed my family any type of pasta (except the occasional box of Annie’s organic mac n cheese) in quite a while, although pasta can make for a really yummy and easy meal.  We’ve been avoiding starchy foods and improperly prepared grains, so conventional pasta has definitely been out (and I’ve never tried making my own, although I’d like to try sometime…).  Enter spaghetti squash.  I had read that it can be substituted in pasta recipes, but I had no idea just how great of a substitution it truly makes!  So, last week I threw together a really quick lunch with a few things I had on hand, and it came out so deliciously good, I had to share it!

Cooked spaghetti squash

Here is the recipe:

1 Spaghetti Squash

1 lb Grass-fed Meat (I used ground beef- so easy and kid-pleasing!)

1 Pint Cream (I used raw, grass-fed.)

1/2 Cup Shredded Cheese (I used a white Kerrygold cheese from grass-fed cows.  Kerrygold cheeses have a very distinct flavor, and this one complimented a “pasta” dish wonderfully!)

 

Cut squash in half and place cut side down in a shallow baking dish.  Cook at 375 for 45 min-hour.  Meanwhile, brown your meat.  I used ground beef, but I would imagine chunks of free-range, organic chicken would be good as well!  For your sauce, warm the cream over low heat and add the shredded cheese.  Heat just enough to melt the cheese (I didn’t want to heat mine too much in order to preserve the raw properties of the cream.)  You can add salt and pepper or even some Italian-type spices (such as oregano) to taste.  The cheese I used was very flavorful, so I didn’t find adding additional flavors to be necessary.  The sauce will be fairly runny.  I didn’t mind this at all, but if you want a thicker sauce, you can add 1/8 cup or so of arrowroot powder in stir well with a whisk.

Remove squash from oven and let cool enough to hold it.  Using a fork, scrape the inside of the squash until the stringy insides are completely removed from the peel.  This is the base of your dish.  Top the squash with your meat, then drizzle the sauce over all of it.

That’s it.  I don’t have a picture of the completed meal because my family scarfed it down so quickly.  It was SO good!  I will definitely be making it again this week because I made sure to grab a great, big spaghetti squash on my last trip to the farmer’s market!

Leave a Reply

