Healthy(er) Mixed Fruit Cobbler Recipe

My family and I just DEVOURED this cobbler!  I love cobblers because they are so easy yet taste sooo good!  We ate ours with a little frozen yogurt. 

Here’s the recipe so you and yours can enjoy it too (I adapted it from a recipe on found on Food Network):

Filling:

6 Cups Mixed Fruit (I used a mixture of blueberries, chopped peaches and figs purchased this morning from our local farmer’s market, which I removed the stems from and cut in half)

1/4 Cup Whole Wheat Flour

1/4 Cup Sugar (I used turbinado… still sugar, but it makes me feel a little better.)

The zest from one orange

Topping:

1/4 Cup Whole Wheat Flour

1/4 Cup All Purpose Flour (I use King Arthur Unbleached)

2 Tablespoons, Plus 1 teaspoon Sugar, divided (again, turbinado)

1/2 teaspoon Baking Powder

1/4 teaspoon Baking Soda

1/4 teaspoon Salt

2 Tablespoons Real Butter

1/3 Cup Low fat Buttermilk

1 Tablespoon Cooking Oil (I usually use EVOO [I know, I think I’m Rachel Ray here… and the purpose of saving typing by using the initials is wasted now by this lengthy explanation], but tonight I had Smart Balance oil)

2 Tablespoons Ground Flax Seed

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Smooth a little butter or use a healthy cooking spray in the bottom of your dish.

In a large bowl, toss the berries with whole wheat flour, sugar and zest. Transfer the berry mixture to the baking dish and set aside.

 In a medium bowl whisk together the whole-wheat flour, all-purpose flour, 2 tablespoons of sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Cut in the butter using a fork or a pastry cutter until many small pebble-sized pieces are formed.

 In a small bowl or pitcher, whisk together the buttermilk, oil and flax seed. Add the buttermilk-oil mixture to the dry ingredients and mix until just moistened. Do not over mix. Drop the batter onto the fruit forming 6 mounds. Sprinkle with the remaining teaspoon of sugar. Bake for 30 minutes, until fruit is bubbly and top is golden. Let stand for at least 10 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

