An even better deodorant!

So, I originally tried making my own homemade deodorant a couple months back and was initially happy with the results.  It was pretty easy to make and I was very pleased with the consistency since it felt like store-bought deodorant.  However, after a couple weeks, it just wasn’t cutting it anymore.  I was feelin’ like a stinky hippie!  So, what did I do?  I kept using it.  After all, I had a whole 5-6 months supply of the stuff and I am not one to be wasteful.  BUT- I did eventually get tired of being stinky, so I decided a change was in order.  Since I refuse to wear aluminum-containing commercial deodorant, I did a little more research.  I found the simplest homemade deodorant recipe ever: coconut oil, baking soda and corn starch.

The exact measurements are as follows:

6 TBS Coconut Oil

1/4 Cup each of baking soda and cornstarch

Just mix ’em all together til they make a creamy paste, then scoop it into a covered container.  You can add essential oil if you like.

I just made a small amount to try it out, but as soon as I get my hands on an empty deodorant container, I plan to make a whole batch of it (or, I may just put it in a lip balm tube, which I think would work just as well).  I should note that if the bathroom gets real hot and steamy, the deodorant WILL melt.  Likewise, if you leave it on the windowsill and try to use it at 5 AM, it will most likely be frozen.  Even in warm climates like my own 😉

I have been so pleased with the performance of this very simple deodorant!  It keeps me dry AND when I sweat, I smell like coconut! 😉  I found the recipe on Passionatehomemaking.com, a fantastic resource for living simply and naturally, as well as providing encouragement for using your gifts as a homemaker to serve your family the way the Lord intends!  Wonderful, wonderful Website!  The page I’ve linked to gives several uses for coconut oil as a replacement for and ingredient in several beauty products.

Read here to find out about my experiment with coconut oil as a hair masque!

3 thoughts on “An even better deodorant!

  1. Pingback: Best of the Best of Twenty Ten « naturalmommainprogress

  2. Pingback: Real Food Confession: Jaclyn | Modern Alternative Mama

  3. Pingback: Home-made Deodorant « LoulaNatural

Leave a Reply

