Shower Gel

I was headed out for a girl’s weekend and didn’t want to have to pack the bar soap I’ve been using. Since the hubby and I had used our date night to go to HEB (we’re really exciting like that), I had just picked up a few items to start stocking up on soap/lotion-making supplies. I decided, at 11 PM (even while planning on getting up at 5 the next morning to make it to a yoga class in the Dallas area), that I would go ahead and try it. Hubby thought I was crazy to be starting a project at that hour. I knew I was. However, it turned out to be super fast and easy!

I just kind of made it up as I went, based on all the different recipes I’ve found online. I put about 3/4 cup water in a pot and turned the burner on low, then used a cheese grater to grate about 1/2 cup of Dr. Bronner’s pure castile bar soap straight into the measuring cup.

I poured the grated soap into the water and turned the temperature up a little bit. I didn’t bring it to a boil, just let it heat as I stirred it until the soap was melted. When that was done, I added a teaspoon of vitamin E oil, which is great for your skin:

Vitamin E is a great skin moisturizer and helps reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles.

After that, I put some Tea Tree Essential Oil drops into the mixture (it came out faster than I expected so now my shower gel smells mostly like Tea Tree), to give my shower gel germ-killing properties, plus lavender essential oil because it is my favorite scent. Then, I just poured it into a plastic squeeze bottle (found at Hobby Lobby) using a funnel.

It was really liquid-y and I wasn’t sure how it was going to work out, so I just left it on the counter to cool. In the morning, when I grabbed it to pack into my toiletries case, it was still pretty runny, which was pretty much what I had expected. However, late that afternoon, when I was ready to take a shower at the hotel, I pulled it out of my bag and it had gelled up! I had successfully made shower gel, and it was so easy and really quite cheap.  Not to mention, I really like using it.  It makes my skin feel silky and so soft and clean after my shower!  I have even used it to wash my face.  (Dr. Bronner’s soaps are pretty universal: they can be used anywhere on the body, as well as for all kinds of household cleaning purposes!)  I did try washing my hair with it because I forgot baking soda on my trip, but that was much less successful because the Vitamin E oil made my hair oily (ya think?!).  I probably spent less than $15 total on the supplies and used only a tiny amount of each for this batch. The supplies will last me a long time and will also go into several other recipes I have planned for the week.
Speaking of… time to go finish getting my supplies so I can try the rest of the recipes! Wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “Shower Gel

  1. I’m attempting to make all-natural, organic hand sanitizer (Tea Tree & Raspberry). I bought the supplies at Sprouts Farmer’s Market and the bottles at Hobby Lobby! We’ll see how it turns out! 🙂

    • Awesome! J just mixed up an antibac hand liquid hand soap and told me about it, so I tried it too! We used the Dr. Bronner’s liquid castile soap (I just used the almond one I already had). I filled my empty bottle from the soap I just ran out of mostly with water, then added about an inch-inch and a half of the castile soap to the top, then dropped in Tea Tree essential oil for bacteria-fighting. It is runny, but very soapy! That stuff works great! It really is super concentrated! Let me know how your hand sanitizer comes along! I would like to make some of that too!

Leave a Reply

